Closer

I was standing at her door. Just like any other Saturday evening filled with excitement and joy! There are some things you never get used to no matter how many times you do it. Like watching that one movie which never bores you. Reading that book which always keeps you at its grip and you keep reading further and further. Riding that motorcycle, no matter how small the journey is, it’s an adventure. For me, spending time with her was one such thing. It was always something special.


I clicked the doorbell – no answer. I clicked again and the result was the same. Third time’s charm, but wasn’t that day. So, I called her phone and door was finally open and there she was with her sleepy eyes, hair all over her face. At that moment she was the second most prettiest messy looking human, first being me. Who am I kidding? She looked like the rain soaked evening just before sunset. When storm ends, sure everything looks messed up, but you step out and see the horizon and feel the cold breeze, it’s soothing and the earth around you is greener and more beautiful than ever. That’s how it was. Her cheeks glowing, eyes hiding behind her hair and peeking through and then she tucks her hair behind her right ear..it was nothing short of a magic trick which left me awestruck every time. But the best part was it wasn’t a trick, it was all real. With her sleepy, blurry, breaking voice came a “Hii” and a giant hug.


According to a study, hugging reduces level of stress, improves your heart health and eases depression. Her hugs proved it every time!


I don’t know how but I agreed to watch BigBoss with her. I didn’t know why they were all yelling at each other or crying over who gets the last piece of chicken. There even was a contest on who gets the desert. Whole point of the show was pointless. But all that mattered to me was lying next to her. I don’t know when I fell asleep. The next thing I remember is turning to my right and sleeping on my shoulder with my hands tucked under my cheek like a pillow. As soon as I turned I felt a touch on tip my nose. It was her nose and her lips were just a fingertip away from mine. So close, yet so far! Her hair was flowing across her face over her cheek. I could feel her every breath. I stayed frozed! I stopped breathing thinking that would stop my heart from pounding so hard. I didn’t move an inch thinking me moving would disrupt the cosmos and ruin the moment. I prayed to every divine spirit. I prayed to every lucky stars of mine. I prayed to every God there is/was to pause this moment so that I could capture it forever.
At that moment all I could do was stare at her lips. No matter how badly you think you deserve something, sometimes you can’t have it. It’s a part of life. It’s like the universe reminding you what you’re missing and when you know that missing piece of life you realise what life is all about. Life is an unfair journey. Sometimes you don’t get what you yearn for the most and you have to live with it. If you always end up with what you wish for, it’s not life. It’s a fairy tale. And fairy tales aren’t real!


But life wasn’t too harsh on me. I got to spend time with her. Like watching that movie, her company never bored me. Like reading that favorite book, her stories always kept me at the edge of my seat. Like that journey in your motorcycle, doesn’t matter how little time I spent with her it was always exciting. It was always something special.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑